Blog Post - Gold and Platinum Explained
Types of Metal
12th February 2017
Blog Post - Diamonds The 4C's
The 4 Cs
12th February 2017

What is a Hallmark?

Until 1998, a Hallmark consisted of four COMPULSORY MARKS.  Since 1998 the date letter has become optional but the other three symbols remain compulsory. The symbols give the following information:

  • who made the article
  • what is its guaranteed standard of fineness
  • the Assay Office at which the article was tested and marked
  • the year in which the article was tested and marked

For further details please visit the excellent article displayed on the Birmingham Assay Office site here


Lost your password?